ASP Annual Awards Ceremony

The Arkansas State Police Foundation is proud to host the Arkansas State Police Annual Awards Ceremony. Recipients of Official Commendations, Distinguished Service Awards, Lifesaving Award, Gold Shield Award, Civilian Employee of the Year Award and Trooper of the Year Award are honored.


Awards are given in the following categories:


Official Commendations

An Official Commendation Award may be presented to troopers and civilian employees for exemplary service when an employee, through diligence and perseverance, performs beyond the call of duty, under unusual circumstances and conditions. The award is not limited to the protection of life and property or the apprehension of criminals, but may include performing assigned job duties over a period of time or performing specific tasks in an exemplary manner.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award honors citizens or law enforcement officers from other agencies who assist the Arkansas State Police in the apprehension of a criminal in a manner that clearly and directly places the individuals in jeopardy or physical harm or death.

Lifesaving Award

The Lifesaving Award is presented to a trooper or civilian employee, who through direct personal intervention, including the application of CPR, the Heimlich maneuver or any other live-saving measures performed on a victim that prevents immediate death.

Gold Shield Award

The Gold Shield Award is designed to honor troopers and civilian employees who, under honorable conditions, suffer permanent disfigurement, permanent impairment of health or extremely serious physical injury in the line of duty.

Civilian Employee of the Year Award

The Civilian Employee of the Year Award honors a civilian employee for outstanding performance or contribution to the mission of the Arkansas State Police. By recognizing a single civilian employee, the Arkansas State Police acknowledges all civilian employees as indispensable and integral to the services delivered to the people of Arkansas.

Civilian employees are defined as non-commissioned employees who work in all divisions of the agency. Qualifications for this award may be based on single or cumulative acts of heroism. The acts of the Civilian Employee of the Year recipient must be so exemplary as to set the individual apart and above his or her peers.

Trooper of the Year 

The Trooper of the Year award may only be given to commissioned officers. The award may recognize cumulative acts of heroism or meritorious service provided that the meritorious service exceeds service that is clearly outstanding and not only benefits the Arkansas State Police, but the entire State of Arkansas.